National Walton Leadership Award Logo

The National Walton Leadership Award was established to recognize state chief administrators for their passion, outstanding service, leadership and commitment to state government. The award was created to honor Ray Walton for his service and dedication to state government and to NASCA. Ray Walton served as the Executive Director for NASCA from February 2011 through February 2015 and the former Director and Chief Operating Officer for the Iowa Department of Administrative Services. Learn more about Ray Walton.

This award will be presented annually to one state chief administrator at the Institute on Management and Leadership.


  • Nominees must currently serve as a state chief administrator (or equivalent).
  • All NASCA State Primary (Chief Administrators) AND Secondary (Department Staff) members are eligible to nominate a current state chief administrator (or equivalent). Deputies and staff are now eligible to submit a nomination.
  • Nominees (i.e. the state) for this award must be current members with NASCA.


  • Selection of the National Walton Leadership Award honoree is based on two major criteria: 
    • Accomplishments in his/her state and/or in NASCA
    • Service and leadership during their career
  • The winner for this award will be selected by a NASCA awards sub-committee.


Submissions are due to NASCA extended to Friday, September 25, 2020 at 5 PM ET.

Step 1: Step 2:
Download nomination template
Submit your application


Past Recipients:

2019 2018 2017 2016 2015
 Michael DiBiase Bob Oglesby   Chris Liu Doug Nelson   Richard Sliwoski

Michael DiBiase,
Former Director,
Rhode Island's Department of Administration

Bob Oglesby, 
Former Commissioner, Tennessee's
Department of General Services 

 Chris Liu,
Washington's Department of Enterprise Services  

 Doug Nelson, 
Former Commissioner,
Missouri's Office of Administration 
 Richard Sliwoski,
Former Director,
Virginia's Department of General Services