The Innovation in State Government Award recognizes state administration department programs, projects, and initiatives that exemplify leading practices in the industry. 

2021 Categories:

More details in the Awards Information Packet on each category.

  • Acquisition, Supply Chain, and Stockpiles
  • Customer Service & Experience
  • Digital Services, Data Management, Analytics & Visualization
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Procurement
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Workforce
  • Employee Engagement and Experience (includes Strategic Workforce Planning)
  • Transformation
  • Workspace Optimization Initiatives


Nominations will be reviewed for eligibility and alignment with the category. The nominator will be notified by July 8 of any concerns with the submission.

  • State must be a paid member of NASCA
  • Submissions must be made by State Chief Administrators (or equivalent) or other state member with the State Chief Administrator's approval
  • Nominated programs/projects should have implemented within the last 24 months
  • Projects may be led by other agencies/departments, but staff from the administration department must have played a significant role in developing the program or project. (ex: HHS stockpile redesign, Department of Corrections recruitment and retention initiative)
  • Only one nomination per state is allowed in each category, not multiple categories. Contact [email protected] if you need help on the category selection
  • A state may only be recognized as the award winner in two categories, the two highest scoring projects will be selected
  • Only completed submissions will be accepted
  • Submissions will only be accepted online
  • Prior year submissions that were not awarded and have been updated can also be submitted

Judging Criteria:

Applicants will use a NASCA template that includes an executive summary and narrative of each of the following judging criteria. Visual aids are encouraged and may be included as supplemental material, but scores will be based on the written submission. More details in the Awards Information Packet on each criteria:

  • Innovation: Project Goals/Objectives (25%)
  • Strategy/Tactics (25%)
  • Impact: Success Metrics/Outcomes and Efficiencies Achieved (50%)

Looking for tips and tricks? Check out Tips for a strong submission.

Deadline: July 6, 2021 | 11:59 PM ET

Step 1: Step 2: Step 3:
Awards Information Packet
Download Submission Template


Access previous award submissions on our Knowledge Center

Past Recipients: 
General Services  Infrastructure Financial Management Personnel
State of Arkansas
Government Transformation

 State of California
Hotel to Housing Conversion Framework
 State of Colorado
Procuring $1B in Goods and Services Through Invitations to Negotiate
State of Florida
Shared Savings Program
State of Missouri
Professional Development Transformation


General Services  Infrastructure Financial Management Personnel

State of California
 E-Signature for Acquisitions
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Energy Supply Procurement

Commonwealth of Virginia
 Information Technology Infrastructure
Sourcing Program (ITISP)
State of Michigan
Circumventing Risk with
Contract Management
State of Illinois
Hiring Optimization Initiative


General Services  Infrastructure Financial Management Personnel

State of Utah
On-Demand Motor Pool

State of California
OAH Secure e_file
State of Utah
Division of Risk Management
Workplace Safety Grant
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Shared Services Transformation
of Human Resources & Information
State of Tennessee
Strategic HR Service Delivery


General Services  Infrastructure Financial Management Personnel

State of Georgia
Amazon in Team Georgia

State of Kansas
Hosted/Managed Services
for Statewide Systems 
State of New York
Travel & Expense Share
State of Illinois
Rapid Results Initiative


General Services  Infrastructure Financial Management Personnel

State of North Carolina
Motor Fleet Management

State of Washington
Employee-Driven Eco-Friendly
Landscape Management Project
State of Wyoming
Validated Performance
Measurement Survey
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Commonwealth Next
Generation Initiative


General Services  Infrastructure Financial Management Personnel
State of Louisiana
State Procurement
Business Transformation


State of Tennessee
Facilities Management
State of Minnesota
MnSAFE - Safety Accountability
from Everyone
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
Commonwealth Mentoring
Program (CMP)