The Government Operations Champion Award shall be awarded to an individual that champions the critical role of efficient, effective, equitable operations and demonstrates a passion that good government operations and programs will enhance the customer and citizen experience. 


  • Nominees must currently be in state government or have worked in state government in the last 12 months.
  • Nominees may be from any state government agency (state CAOs are not eligible)
  • All senior leaders and department staff of the chief administrator are eligible to nominate a champion.
  • Nominees must be from a state that is a current member of NASCA.


  • Selection of the Operations Champion honoree is based on two major criteria:
    • Accomplishments in their state in the field of government operations
    • Service and leadership in the field of government operations during their career


Nomination Period: May 22 through June 30, 2023


How to Nominate:

  1. Download Nomination Template
    1. Complete the Nomination Template (format: PDF)
  2. Submit your Nomination (The nomination form will be available starting May 30, 2023)

Click here for Past Recipients